The Chevalier de Saint-Georges: Virtuoso of the Sword and the Bow

Price:$319.95 + shipping
(Click the PayPal button to buy)
This is a biography of The Chevalier de Saint-Georges. "Now, over two centuries after his death, the legacy that Saint-Georges left to posterity is as multifaceted as his attributes: fairness, honor, strength, courage, and a passion for justice. But above all, he left us a musical heritage that has enriched our knowledge and appreciation of that most human of instruments: the violin." -Gabriel Banat ["Epilogue"]

This book was originally published by Pendragon Press in 2006.

Table of Contents

Dramatis Personae
Chapter 1: The Island
Chapter 2: Joseph
Chapter 3: The Trial
Chapter 4: A Fugitive Family
Chapter 5: The Bologne Plantation
Chapter 6: People "of Color"
Chapter 7: Return to France
Chapter 8: Paris
Chapter 9: The Prodigy
Chapter 10: Too Many Blacks
Chapter 11: The Chevalier de Saint-Georges
Chapter 12: A Young Man about Town
Chapter 13: Virtuoso
Chapter 14: Gossec
Chapter 15: The New Bow
Chapter 16: Compositions: Quartets and Concertos
Chapter 17: Gluck and Marie Antoinette
Chapter 18: Concertos and Symphonies Concertantes
Chapter 19: The Opera Affair
Chapter 20: Ernestine
Chapter 21: Madame de Montesson
Chapter 22: Madame de Montalembert
Chapter 23: L'Amant Anonyme
Chapter 24: Le Concert des Amateurs
Chapter 25: The Grand Orient of France
Chapter 26: Le Concert Olympique
Chapter 27: Le Palais-Royal
Chapter 28: London
Chapter 29: The Gathering Storm
Chapter 30: The Bastille
Chapter 31: Revolution
Chapter 32: An Orleans Conspiracy?
Chapter 33: Return to London
Chapter 34: Lille
Chapter 35: The National Guard
Chapter 36: La Legion Saint-Georges
Chapter 37: Regicide
Chapter 38: The Great Terror
Chapter 39: Too Many Colonels
Chapter 40: Paris 1795
Chapter 41: Saint-Domingue
Chapter 42: Coda-Finale

Other Music-Pendragon Books