Critical Study of Literary Critic Q. D. Leavis’s Published and Unpublished Writings

Price:$219.95 + shipping
(Click the PayPal button to buy)
Analyzes the various aspects of Q.D. Leavis' dealings with novelists such as Jane Austen, Dickens, the Bronte sisters, and George Eliot. It comments on plot, characterization, style, and the Zeitgeist. The final chapters examine the nature of her collaboration with her husband F.R. Leavis. The chapters dealing with Hans Christian Andersen, and folk and fairy tales cover hitherto unexplored ground.

Table of Contents

Table of contents:
Preface by Robin Leavis
1. Fiction and the Reading Public: A Sociological Approach to the Novel
2. Jane Austen: Novelist of a changing society
3. The Brontë Sisters: A Revolutionary Theory of the Novel
4. Dickens: A Tolstoyan Novelist before Tolstoy
5. George Eliot: Novels as ‘Deeply Serious Things’
6. Mrs. Margaret Oliphant: Bridging the gap between Jane Austen and George Eliot
7. The Novel of Religious Controversy
8. The Anglo-Irish Novel
9. The American Novel: Hawthorne, Melville, Henry James, Edith Wharton
10. The European Novel: French, Russian and Italian
11. Folk Lore, Fairy Tales, Oral Tradition
12. Hans Christian Andersen: Voice of the Story-teller
13. Q. D. Leavis and the making of Scrutiny
14. Q. d. Leavis and F. R. Leavis: the Nature of Collaboration
15. Q. D. Leavis: Last Years (A Personal Memoir)
Bibliography; Index of names

Other Literature - English Books